California requires a minimum amount of car insurance, but do you need more than the minimum? Our team of experts at T.D. McNeil Insurance Services can break down everything you need to know about car insurance in Folsom, CA so that you can make an informed decision about your coverage.
What does California require?
California law requires all drivers to carry liability insurance in the following amounts:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $5,000 for property damage per accident
These are the minimums required by law, but remember that they may not be enough to cover the full cost of an accident. If you cause an accident that results in injuries or property damage exceeding your coverage limit, you could be held liable for the difference.
What factors should I consider when deciding how much coverage to get?
The value of your car: If you have a newer or more expensive car, you’ll want to ensure you have enough coverage to replace it if it’s totaled in an accident.
Your personal assets: If you have significant savings or other assets, you’ll want to make sure they’re protected if you’re sued for damages after an accident.
Your deductibles: Your deductible is the amount you’ll have to pay out-of-pocket before your insurance kicks in.
Contact Us Today
The amount of insurance you need in Folsom, CA depends on factors like the value of your car and your personal assets. However, you always need at least the minimum required by California law. Ultimately, your goal should be to get the best protection possible without breaking the bank. T.D. McNeil Insurance Services is here to help you find the right policy for your needs.